Rook's Bad Cookbook

An amateur cook's adventures

Chicken Fajitas

fajitas

Awesome fajitas

Been staying with my friend AW. Another of my current roommates, JF, made fajitas tonight. I’ve been sick with a head cold that, this morning, moved to infiltrate my chest with the plague. However, fajitas were had for dinner and I feel much restored. This is probably the best I have felt in two days. If I were any more full, I’d be sick from being overfull, but I am comfortably overstuffed. So. Freaking. Good.

  • Tortillas
  • Chicken (chopped or as short strips)
  • Butter
  • Cheese (Cheddar, Pepper jack)
  • Bell peppers (Red, Yellow, Green)
  • 1 medium/big onion (1/4 diced, 3/4 chopped)
  • Fajita seasoning packet
  • Seasoned salt
  • Pepper
  • Lime
  • Cilantro (chop/diced)
  • Sour cream
  • Avacados or guacamole mix
  • Optional: sugar, chili powder

Prep ingredients – dice, chunk, chop…

Pico: Mix chop/diced cilantro, onion (diced), diced tomato.

Guacamole: Mix mashed avacado, sour cream, and 2 tablespoons pico.

Fajitas

  1. Put butter in pan. Add bell pepper and onion (chopped).
  2. Season with seasoned salt and pepper.
  3. Let onion sautee, cook veggies until limp, not burned. Remove veggies from heat, set aside.
  4. Put butter in pan. When melty, add chicken. Season as before. Cook chicken until no pink is left.
  5. Mix cooked veggies in with cooked chicken.
  6. Add fajita seasoning. Squeeze lime over the whole thing and mix. Cook to finish.
  7. Serve with tortillas.

I haven’t cooked these myself, so cannot speak on it first hand, but I did taste them first hand. When I can cook this meal, I will report my own findings.

As it is, JF told me that there’s a couple things that can be done with the pico…

  • To make the pico sweet: add sugar.
  • To make the pico spicy: add chili powder.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by in Dinners and tagged , , , .
Follow Rook's Bad Cookbook on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

